top of page

How to become a freelance copywriter


There is someone sitting behind a computer right now wondering how they can become a freelance copywriter. Perhaps they have some samples, a budding portfolio and some spunk to make it happen. Or, maybe they do not have any samples and want to start building from the ground-up. Either way, I am here to tell you how to become a freelance copywriter.

Make the decision.

That's it.

Most people think about doing something long before they actually do it. So, if you are thinking about it, stop thinking and start doing. Make the decision to become a freelance copywriter.

Easy, right?

Yes and no. If you are like me, impulsive with a "right-now" attitude, making the decision will be the easy part. Developing a gameplan and sticking to it will be the hard part. Here are some tips to help you get up and running with consistency once you make the decision to step out as a freelance copywriter.

Get a portfolio

If you have it, they will come. A portfolio is a way to showcase what you can do, what you have done and what you can deliver. If you do not yet have any work samples, take on the extra duty at work to create a flyer, brochure, newsletter, blog, etc.

Even if you cannot easily create content at your current job, you can still build a portfolio. Take out a Craigslist ad and get to work doing some pro bono copywriting. Yes, I just told you to work for free. Yes, working for free is a pain. However, keep the big picture in mind. And if you are really savvy, negotiate a one-time deal for free copywriting serivces but advise pro bono clients of your rate moving forward. Be sure to knock the sample out of the park so when it's time for more created content, they know who to hire.

Build a website

You are here. That means I took my own advice and got cracking with a website. It took me almost three weeks to make this site and I really, really want to be a successful freelance copywriter. Three weeks may not seem like much time to you, but for "Ms. Right Now" me, it felt like an enternity. I finally got it done because I realized that a copywriter without a website is like a painter without a brush. You need a place for potential clients to scope out your work. A website is especially important if you are working on a portfolio because it is the perfect way to give clients a "right now" preview of your writing skills.

Get blogging

Even with my love of writing, I am still in the process of putting content on my site. In fact, this is the first blog post on my website, which has been live for...oh...about a week and a half. MoTheWriter would rather be creating content for YOU instead of blogging on my own site. In an unrelated note, I now realize why so many beauticians are unconcerned with their own hair, and instead focused on making their clients look fabulous. If you love what you do, you would rather do what you love as a service to others.

Get clients

I have to be honest. I'm still a rookie at this. I did manage to quit my job and make my old employer my first real client. Yes, I have a few other projects I am actively working on (go me!). But a lot of what I do on a day-to-day basis is prospect for new clients. Using the internet, cold calling and even pitching my services to the people at Starbucks (I drink so much more coffee now that I'm a freelancer), I am constantly promoting myself. You have to be tactful, yet shameless in being the marketing team for your freelance career.

Stick to it

Because I'm new at this, I am writing from a "by any means necessary" vantage point. Advice from other freelance copywriters comes from a place of "I made it and here's how you can too." I'm not going to lie. Reading their blogs is what got me here. What they have to say is inspirational and necessary.

However, I am just beginning and I plan to chronicle how this journey pans out. I've been at this for a little over a week and there are some days I want to lay in bed and do nothing. It does not work that way in this freelance life though. If I want to eat, I have to work. And "work" is getting up daily, hitting the computer, reviewing freelance websites, calling businesses to pitch my service, writing and more.

So, no matter what, take it a day at a time, pace yourself, set some goals and stick to it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page